I finally found out where I'm working today -- Blizzard Beach! An unexpected and totally awesome surprise. A specific location hasn't been brought up yet, but that'll probably happen either later today or during Traditions. Just guessin'.
So! What's happened over the last few days? Well, Saturday was pretty much the Best Day Ever when dad got us into Magic Kingdom with some old park tickets he was hanging onto; later we had dinner at Trail's End. The next day we drove to Vista Way, and I climbed into a van with three other arrivals and was driven over to Chatham Square, where I'll be living for the next three months. Instead of moving into an empty apartment with other newcomers, though, I was given an empty bed in a 4-bedroom apartment occupied entirely by regular College Program participants. So I've basically got seven American roommates, all of whom have been here since February (or around that time). They come and go due to different shifts, but I think I've met all of them at this point -- they're very different from each other, but they've been nothing if not friendly with me, so I think we're off to a good start. I've since learned that we're not in the habit of sharing groceries, so I figure as along as I pick up after myself and wash my own dishes, I should be fine.
I cried a lot when Mom and Dad left on Sunday (although to be fair, they did too, maybe moreso). From then until yesterday, I couldn't bear to sit still for too long -- sitting alone in the apartment made me feel anxious and weepy. Today was better, and the apartment is starting to feel more like a home. My first "official", paid day of work is tomorrow, when I attend my first Traditions class (I have no clue what that will involve). The last three days have pretty much just been short info sessions at The Commons in the morning, and paperwork in the afternoon. I understand there's something about Onboarding paperwork I've overlooked, but I'm pretty sure someone said that they would have the papers there this afternoon.
Even with my moping, I've been having a much better time than I've let on so far. I've met so many new people! Mostly ICPs like myself. I'm having a much easier time hitting it off with other newbies than I would've thought. Plus, we were allowed to attend the Spring Formal at Coronado Springs last night, which was amazing. Pretty much blew my prom out of the water (although that really isn't a difficult feat). I didn't have any makeup, and my hair was a mess, but I had so much fun. It was villain-themed, and there were characters there! I got to meet Maleficenty, and I saw Hades, and...gosh, it was fun. 'Nuff said.
Crap, I just looked at the clock. I have to get out of here and catch a bus to Vista Way. One last thing, though: I was told by the women at orientation this morning that my hair wasn't Disney Look-approved...because of last fall's streaks. Crap. I have to go to Wal-Mart later and have them dye my hair, otherwise I won't be allowed to attend Traditions tomorrow. Ugh. I'll have to time it so that I can still go to Downtown Disney with some friends later.
No comments:
Post a Comment